[MOD]Turret Factory seed randomizer

Neotician

I had issues finding a mod for changing the seed of turret factories, so decided to make my own!

https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=2063508125

The mod basically adds a button, next to the shopping list at the turret factory, that adds a random value between -10000 and 10000 to the seed of that factory.

The new seed is persistent, but does not modify the savefiles, this also means that the seed will revert to normal if the mod is disabled

This is my first time writing a mod for anything, as well as writing LUA, so feedback is appreciated.

Also, does anyone know of a way  of storing  easily searchable data between reloads, that is better than having a txt file for every turret factory?

Really miss my C# lists

Very simple, interesting idea  :)

There actually is a mod adding more seeds, but currently outdated: https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=1792861870

However, I like that your mod is very small, easy to maintain and does not alter savegames.

For saving data you should use the functions secure and restore. Turret factory doesnt have them in vanilla but you can easily add them, watch factory.lua script for a good example.

In secure you can simply return a table of data, you wanna save. When the sector/galaxy is restored from disk the function restore is called, and the table you returned in secure is 1st parameter given to restore.

local someVarToSave = "myValue1"local someOtherVarToSave = "myOtherValue"

function MyAwesomeNamespace.secure()
    local data = {}    data.value1 = someVarToSave    data.value2 = someOtherVarToSave
    return data
end
function MyAwesomeNamespace.restore(data)
    someVarToSave = data.value1
    someOtherVarToSave = data.value2end

For saving data you should use the functions secure and restore. Turret factory doesnt have them in vanilla but you can easily add them, watch factory.lua script for a good example.