Mac OS X Support

X-Trade

Suggestion

It would be really nice to see Avorion available on OS X. If you already have a linux build then it tends to not be too hard to add as a build target, of course testing without a mac tends to be the problem.

Personally I'm accustomed to all OS, as a developer myself, but I use a Mac as my every day machine.

As an alternative, would you recommend some other way of running on Mac, such as through Wine?

9 answers to this suggestion

• Boxelware Team

Mac support is definitely something we want and you summarized the case perfectly. We have to get a machine to build and test it on. Will most likely happen further down the road.

I don't have a lot of experience with neither Mac nor Wine, maybe someone else can chime in?

I think Mac is Unix based kernel system? The game already had Linux builds and might actually be able to work on Mac tbh. I don't also have a mac to test on but mac has terminal mode and the works. Idk if they can run these same kind of linux build binaries from scratch.

Wine is Wine is actually originally for just Linux but I think works on Linux, mac, and BSD, etc. It allows you to run DX9 or something like that on those OS with a little bit of a performance hit and bugs and not everything works perfectly. I think a lot of Linux users for example would use Wine to play say World of Warcraft.

I might be wrong on some of this and I'm sorry :)

• Boxelware Team

It probably won't run natively since macos uses different syscalls than the other linux kernels. It's unix based, but that's about it.

What wine does (very simplified) is map windows system calls to linux system calls, making windows software run on linux.

If there's a wine distribution for mac, it does the same with mac system calls, so it might work. If it does, good for you, but no official support from our side yet.