New Player - Initial Thoughts, Ideas, and Suggestions

Khorius Irelius

Suggestion

I am new to the party, only having discovered Avorion within the past month.

Let me preface this post by saying: I am impressed.

I have logged ~100 hours now into Avorion; and find it taking up nearly every second of my spare time. It has been a LONG time since I have played something so engrossing and encapsulating. When I heard about the size of the development team, I was even more impressed; please don't stop improving this amazing game! That being said, I think a few small changes (most of which already exist as mechanics in the game) could greatly increase the amount of content and replay-abilty that Avorion offers.

Station Docking Tethers

We all know how crucial the collision damage is in Avorion. I personally find it incredibly annoying and tedious (not to mention risky) that I have to get within 0.01 kilometers of a station docking point in order to dock my very large and very expensive spaceships; and I know I’m not alone in this regard.

NPC Ships dock up with stations from 3-5 KM away. I think simply giving players the ability to do the same thing would greatly improve the overall gameplay experience.

Player-Made Stargates

The ability to create your own stargates would be an amazing improvement to Avorion. I personally enjoy having different sectors saved, which I visit frequently for the different stations/services they offer. It is very annoying having to spend up to an hour (sometimes more) just to travel between sectors. In addition, this would be a HUGE gameplay improvement for traders who frequently run resources and goods from the center of the galaxy out to the edge, and back.

Dedicated Internal Server

Im sure this has been suggested before, and maybe even discussed at length internally. I know that hosting a dedicated server requires an immense amount of resources, dedication, optimization, etc. I have to say though, I think it would be worth it!